Make sure to join our email list or follow us on Twitter to have the most up to date information! 


Three of the Wireless Innovation Forum's committees (Spectrum Sharing, 6 GHz, and Advanced Technologies) have come together to provide a virtual deep dive into all things spectrum sharing. Join us online for three days of background, current climate assessment and a window into the future of what is the foundation of modern day wireless communications.

Spectrum sharing is no longer the purview of researchers and has moved on to the dynamic implementation stage. Bring your questions and engage in the discussion on where it is headed.

This event is free and will not be recorded.

Agenda

Day 1: Tuesday, 22 September

Note: To accommodate those attending the NTIA event we have moved the time on Tuesday 
only to start and end 1.5 hours later.

9:30 a.m. - 10:15 a.m. PDT/12:30 p.m. - 1:15 p.m. EDT
ira keltz
Keynote: Ira Keltz
Deputy Chief of Staff, Office of Engineering and Technology, FCC 

Mr. Keltz has totaled over 25 years at the FCC spanning two separate stints.  In addition to positions in OET, he has held various positions in the Commission’s Wireless Telecommunications Bureau.  Mr. Keltz has also worked for the law firm DLA Piper as well as Loral Advanced Projects and LSA, Inc.  He earned a Master’s Degree in Electrical Engineering from the George Washington University and a Bachelor’s Degree in Electrical Engineering from the University of Michigan.

10:15 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. PDT/1:15 p.m - 2:00 pm EDT

Keynote: Scott Patrick
Executive Director, Office of Spectrum Management, NTIA
Scott Patrick helps lead NTIA’s work on spectrum policy issues as well as management of federal spectrum.  NTIA’s Office of Spectrum Management is responsible for frequency assignment and strategic planning functions, including development of approaches to spectrum sharing.Before joining NTIA, Scott was a telecom and technology attorney at the law firm of Baker Hostetler, counseling wireless, cable, broadcast, and broadband companies.  Prior to that, he had been an attorney in the FCC’s Wireless Bureau.  He has a master’s degree in electrical engineering, and his first job was at the Naval Research Lab where he helped develop fiber optic electromagnetic field sensors.

11:00 a.m. - 11:30 a.m. PDT/2:00 p.m. - 2:30 p.m. EDT
Break 

 

11:30 a.m. - 1:30 p.m. PDT/2:30 p.m. - 4:30 p.m. EDT
  • Spectrum Sharing Status Updates 
    • CBRS – Preston Marshall, Google
    • 6 GHz – Mark Gibson, CommScope
    • C Band – Andrew Clegg, Google 
    • 3.1 to 3.55 – Andrew Clegg, Google
    • MMWave - Colin Brown, CRC

Day 2: Wednesday, 23 September 

8:00 a.m. - 8:30 a.m. PDT/11:00 a.m. - 11:30 a.m. EDT

Keynote: Fred Moorefield
Deputy Chief Information Officer for Command, Control, and Communications (C3), Office of the Secretary of Defense Chief Information Officer
As DCIO, Mr. Moorefield provides technical expertise, oversight and broad guidance on policy, programmatic and technical issues relating to C3 to integrate and synchronize defense-wide communications programs. He also advises on efforts to achieve and maintain information dominance for the Department of Defense. He manages efforts defining DoD policies and strategies for design, architecture, interoperability standards, capability development and sustainment of critical command and control and communications for non-nuclear strategic strike, integrated missile defense, Defense and National Leadership Command Capabilities, and spectrum. 

Mr. Moorefield joined Federal service in 1989 in the Air Force as a civil servant, where he served for 19 years doing Research and Development and Acquisition at Wright Patterson Air Force Base Air Force Research Labs. He also served in the Defense Information Systems Agency at the Joint Spectrum Center for four years. He served as Technical Director and Director of Strategic Planning at the Air Force Spectrum Management Office and has been a member of the Senior Executive Corps since 2012.

His education includes a Bachelor degree in mathematics from Wilberforce University, located in Wilberforce Ohio and a Bachelor and Master of Electrical Engineering degree from the University of Dayton in Dayton Ohio.

8:30 a.m. - 9:00 a.m. PDT/11:30 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. EDT

 Keynote: Dr. Sheryl Genco
Director, Institute for Telecommunication Sciences
Dr. Sheryl Genco joins NTIA/ITS with over 30 years of experience in engineering and management. Dr. Genco has held technical and management positions at a wide range of companies including IBM, Ball Aerospace, the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), and Honeywell Corporation. She is a subject matter expert in wireless communication and high-performance computing systems. She holds a Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering from the University of Colorado’s NSF Center of Excellence in Optoelectronic Systems. Her career has heralded the development of new technologies and moving research into operation. 

In addition to her Ph.D., Dr. Genco earned both her Bachelor and Master of Science degrees in Electrical Engineering. She studied electrical power systems, high speed circuit design and semiconductor physics.

9:00 a.m. - 9:30 a.m. PDT/12:00 p.m. - 12:30 p.m EDT

  • Overview of technical considerations in previous SS implementations  
    • History of Spectrum Sharing - Lee Pucker, Wireless Innovation Forum
    • Comparison of Spectrum Sharing Implementations - Andrew Clegg, Google
9:30 a.m. - 10:00 a.m. PDT/12:30 p.m. - 1:00 p.m. EDT
Break 

10:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. /1:00 p.m. - 3:00 p.m. EDT
  • Overview of technical considerations in previous SS implementations (continued)  
    • Deep dive on CBRS lesson learned
      • Standards development - Prakash Moorut, Nokia
      • Field experience - Virgil Cimpu, Ericsson
      • Part 90 Transition - Richard Bernhardt, WISPA
    • Panel Session – “The good, the bad, the ugly” moderated by Preston Marshall, Google

      2020 had strong validations of shared spectrum, including the successful launch of CBRS commercial services, and the massive interest in PAL licenses. However, this panel will investigate some of the missed opportunities, misconceptions, inaccuracies, and unresolved issues in spectrum sharing. The intent is to create fully informed spectrum sharing awareness, recognizing that no single solution is appropriate to all situations, and that over-hype is dangerous to the success of even the best concepts. The panel will investigate the orthodoxies of spectrum sharing as they should apply, and are being applied,  to the large number of bands being rethought worldwide. Panelists include:

      • Monica Paolini, Senza Fili
      • Brian Regan, Starry
      • John Leibovitz, ColCap 

Day 3: Thursday, 24 September

8:00 a.m. - 8:30 a.m. PDT/11:00 a.m. - 11:30 a.m. EDT
Martha Suarez
Keynote: Dr. Martha Suarez
President, Dynamic Spectrum Alliance

Dr. Martha Suarez is President of the Dynamic Spectrum Alliance and has over 15 years of experience in the telecommunications industry. She spent over three years as General Director of the National Spectrum Agency in Colombia, where she was responsible for promoting the efficient use of spectrum having originally joined the ANE in 2013. Suarez is an electronics engineer, with a master degree in high frequency communication systems and is Doctor in electronics.

8:30 a.m. - 10:00 a.m. PDT/11:30 a.m. - 1:00 p.m. EDT

International Panel (photos and bios here), moderated by Prakash Moorut, Nokia

    • José Arias, IFT
    • Christopher Hose, ACMA
    • Emmanuel Faussurier, ANFR
    • Shalini Periyalwar, ISED
    • Harin Grewal, IMDA
10:00 a.m. - 10:15 a.m. PDT/1:00 p.m. - 1:15 p.m. EDT  
Break 

10:15 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. PDT/1:15 p.m. - 3:00 p.m. EDT
  • What’s Next
    • Application of SS technologies report – Mark Gibson, CommScope
    • 6 GHz Band Technology Panel, moderated by Mark Gibson, CommScope with panelists (photos and bios here): 
      • Fabiano Chaves, Nokia
      • Chuck Lukaszewski, HPE
      • Brett Kilbourne, UTC
  • Round table discussion and brainstorming - "What have we learned this week, what do we need to do, and how do we do it?" moderated by Preston Marshall, Google with:
    • Lee Pucker, WInnForum
    • Andy Clegg, Google
    • Mark Gibson, CommScope
    • Richard Bernhardt, WISPA
    • Vigil Cimpu, Ericsson