2018 Vanu Bose Award for Leadership in Wireless Innovation 

The Vanu Bose Award for Leadership in Wireless Innovation is named after the 2005 International Achievement winner the late Dr. Vanu Bose in honor of his leadership and ideals in driving innovation in the advanced wireless market. It is presented to an individual, group of individuals, or organization that made especially significant contributions in furthering the global mission of the Wireless Innovation Forum. This year’s winner is Michael Calabrese of the New America Foundation. Michael is being recognized for his outstanding leadership and numerous contributions in developing policies that promote pervasive connectivity including spectrum policy reform, mobile market competition, and wireless broadband deployment.

He is currently the Director of the Wireless Future Project, which is part of New America’s Open Technology Institute. Since 2009, Michael has served as an appointed member of the U.S. Department of Commerce Spectrum Management Advisory Committee (CSMAC). He also served as an invited expert and fellow collaborator with Dr. Vanu Bose on the President’s Council of Advisors on Science and Technology (PCAST) spectrum reform working group during 2011-2012.

As an attorney and graduate of both Stanford Business and Law Schools, Calabrese speaks and writes frequently on issues related to spectrum, wireless broadband, and internet policy, as well as on pension policy and retirement security. He has co-authored three books and published opinion articles in The New York Times, The Washington Post, The Atlantic Monthly, Slate, and other leading outlets.


 Back to Achievement Awards