

Wireless Innovation Forum Awards Policies and Procedures

Version 1.0

Approved by the Board of Directors on 10 February 2022

The Software Defined Radio Forum, Inc. d/b/a the Wireless Innovation Forum (WInnForum) shall offer the following awards

- 1. Vanu Bose Award for Leadership in Wireless Innovation. This award, named after the 2005 International Achievement winner the late Dr. Vanu Bose in honor of his leadership and ideals in driving innovation in the advanced wireless market, is presented to an individual, group of individuals, or organization that made especially significant contributions in furthering the global mission of the Wireless Innovation Forum.
 - a. WInnForum Staff will solicit nominations for this award from the membership on an annual basis.
 - b. Nominees can come from within the membership or from an outside entity.
 - c. The Board of Directors will review and approve any nominations received.
 - d. Multiple awards may be given in a single year, however if no nominations are approved, no awards will be given.
 - e. Winners of this award will be listed on the WInnForum's Achievement Awards web page¹, receive a commemorative plaque, and receive a lifetime honorary membership in the Wireless Innovation Forum, as per policy 014²
- 2. **WInnForum President's Award.** This Award is presented to individuals in recognition of their sustained outstanding contributions in support of the Wireless Innovation Forum and its activities.
 - a. Winners are chosen by the President (Chair) and Vice-President (Vice-Chair) of the WInnForum on an annual basis from among the active member representatives participating in the WInnForum's various work groups, task groups and special interest groups.
 - b. Multiple awards may be given in a single year, however if no winners are chosen in a given year, no awards will be given.
 - c. Winners of this award will be listed on the WInnForum's Achievement Awards web page, receive a commemorative plaque, and receive a lifetime honorary membership in the Wireless Innovation Forum

¹ https://www.wirelessinnovation.org/sdr_achievement_awards

 $[\]frac{^2\text{ https://www.wirelessinnovation.org/assets/documents/pol%20-\%20sdrf\%20policy\%20on\%20policy\%20-\%20policy\%20-\%20policy\%20-\%20policy\%20by\%20non-members\%20-\%20revision\%202\%201.pdf}$



- 3. **Committee Achievement Awards.** These Awards are presented to individuals in recognition of their sustained outstanding contributions to a specific WInnForum Committee.
 - a. Nominations are made by the Committee Chair(s) on an ad hoc basis and at their sole discretion
 - i. Committee Chairs are encouraged to seek input from the Committee Work Group, Task Group and Special Interest Group chairs in making nominations
 - b. Nominations are reviewed and approved by the Committee Steering Group
 - c. Winners of this award will receive a certificate of appreciation signed by the Committee Chair(s)

4. Service Awards.

- Staff can issue a certificate of appreciation to individual Board of
 Directors members thanking them for their years of service on the Board
 upon request. Such certificates will be signed by the Chair of the Board of
 Directors
- b. Members of the WInnForum may request a letter of appreciation for their continued membership. Such letters will be signed by the WInnForum CEO.
- **5. Technology of the Year Award.** This award will be deprecated with the approval of this policy. Ad hoc awards may be given by the Board for specific wireless innovations of note.